Information about Bali

Here we have the most important information for you and your dive holiday in Bali. If you have any more questions have a look into our FAQ or just send us a message.

In Bali the tourist season is all year long and beautiful diving is possible for 364 days a year! But there is one day a year, a hindu celebration day, the Nyepi Day (Day of Silence) when even the international airport DPS in Bali (Nghurah Rai Airport) is closed. The next Nyepi Days are the following:

Wednesday, 25rd of march 2020 (Caka Year 1942)
Sunday, 14th of march 2021 (Caka Year 1943)
Saturday, 03rd of march 2022 (Caka Year 1944)
Wednesday, 22nd of march 2023 (Caka Year 1945)
Monday, 11th of march 2024 (Caka Year 1946)
Saturday, 29th of march 2025 (Caka Year 1947)

On these days you are not allowed to leave your hotel! There is a curfew on the whole island (no joke!).

More public holidays of the balinesians are Galungan Day and Kuningan Day. They have different dates on the balinesian calendar.

Entry into Bali

Visa for the Republic of Indonesia and Bali

The government of the Republic of Indonesia has introduced the duty for visa for several countries.

Countries freed from a visa for short stays (BVKS)

The following list shows the countries whose citizens are freed from the duty to have a visa for a short stay of maximum 30 days for the purposes of tourism, social- and cultural purposes, business trips and visits on the order of the government:

Countries or Regions
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Chile
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Malaysia
  • Marocco
  • Macao Special Administrative Region
  • Thailand
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Vietnam

Visa for entry (also for German citizens)

The visa will be given for a stay in Indonesia for the length up to 30 days, extension for 30 more days possible. This is valid for tourists, for socio-cultural purposes, business or visits on behalf of the government, for the citizens of the following countries and regions:

Countries and Regions
  • Egypt
  • Algeria
  • Argentinia
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • People's Republik of China
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Great Britain
  • India
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italia
  • Japan
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Liechtenstein
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Maledives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • the Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Austria
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Rumania
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Switzerland
  • Spain
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Tunesia
  • Hungary
  • United States of America
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Cyprus

The visa can be extended by another 30 days. See the Immigration Office in Bali (best in Kuta) .
German, swiss and austrian citizens can also apply for a 2 to 6-month-visa beforehand.

Further information about the visa on entry

Granting the visa on entry

Granting the visa on entry takes place with a stamp or sticker on your legal pass port that needs a validity of 6 more months on the date of entry.

Fees for the visa on entry

According to the valid regulations of the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights of the Republic of Indonesia a fee is being charged for the granting of the visa on entry.

News: the fees for the visa on entry is 35 USD.

Checkpoints for Immigration for granting the visa on entry

Granting the visa on entry takes place by the immigration officers at the following immigration checkpoints:

  • Airports
    • Bali
    • Balikpapan
    • Jakarta
    • Kupang
    • Manado
    • Makasar
    • Mataram
    • Medan
    • Padang
    • Pakanbaru
    • Surabaya
    • Surakarta/Solo
    • Yogyakarta
  • Seaports
    • Sekupang, Batu Ampar, Nongsa, Marina Teluk Senimba, Batam Center in Batam; Bandar Bintan Telani Lagoi and Bandar Sri Udana Lobam in Tanjung Uban Bintan
    • Sri Bintan Pura Tanjung Pinang
    • Belawan, Sibolga, Yos Sudarso-Dumai, Teluk Bayur-Padang, Tanjung Priok-Jakarta, Padang Bai
    • Benoa Bali, Jayapura, Bitung, Tanjung Balai Karimun, Tanjung Mas-Semarang, Tenau-Kupang, Pare-pare, Soekarno Hatta-Makassar, Maumere